Interpreting a Care Quality Commission Report

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) monitors, inspects and regulates all nursing homes services to make sure they meet fundamental standards of quality and safety. Furthermore the CQC publishes what it finds, including performance ratings to help people choose the best nursing home.

In most cases, CQC inspection reports include ratings. These ratings can help you to compare services and make choices about nursing care.

There are four overall ratings that the CQC can give to a nursing home service: outstanding, good, requires improvement and inadequate.

  1. Outstanding – The service is performing exceptionally well
  2. Good – The service is performing well and meeting our expectations
  3. Requires improvement – The service isn’t performing as well as it should and we have told the service how it must improve
  4. Inadequate – The service is performing badly and we’ve taken action against the person or organisation that runs it.

The CQC normally gives an individual rating for each of five key questions. These questions are:

  1. Are they safe?
  2. Are they effective?
  3. Are they caring?
  4. Are they responsive to people’s needs?
  5. Are they well-led?

By law, care providers have to display the ratings we give them. They must display them in the places where they provide care, somewhere that people who use their services can easily see them, such as the main entrance. Providers must also show their ratings on their website, if they have one.

All Stowlangtoft Healthcare homes are rated as Good, overall, by the CQC.


Related Posts